Wednesday, September 04, 2019

Our Planet




The official children's book to the Netflix original documentary series, Our Planet, written by Matt Whyman with illustrations by Richard Jones and a foreword by Sir David Attenborough.

This glorious visual celebration of the natural world combines extraordinary photography from the series with stunning illustrations from acclaimed artist, Richard Jones. Lose yourself in icy landscapes, dense jungles and endless oceans. Learn how our fascinating habitats, and the plants and creatures living there, interconnect to create the one place we all call home - Our Planet.
`You will be among the next characters who can, if they wish, tell the most extraordinary story of all - how human beings in the twenty-first century came to their senses and started to protect Planet Earth.' Sir David Attenborough
Our Planet: The One Place We All Call Home is published in the UK by HarperCollins on October 31st 2019.  

Wednesday, February 27, 2019

Good Omens





For much of last year, with thanks to Neil Gaiman and publisher, Headline, I went off radar to work on a dream project that took me to film sets and studios from London to Cape Town. It was exciting, scary, illuminating, inspiring, great fun interviewing cast and crew, and kind of unique to find myself working on this book alongside one about pigs...


The Nice and Accurate Good Omens TV Companion is the ultimate companion to Good Omens, a massive new television launch on Amazon Prime Video and the BBC for 2019, adapted from the internationally beloved novel by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman - and with a cast including David Tennant, Michael Sheen, Jon Hamm, Miranda Richardson, Josie Lawrence, Derek Jacobi, Nick Offerman, Jack Whitehall and Adria Arjona. 

Offering deep and nuanced insight into Gaiman's brilliant reimagining of the Good Omens universe, this full-colour official companion book is a treasure trove of delights for fans of Good Omens, Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett. 

'The Nice and Accurate Good Omens TV Companion provides behind-the-scenes insight, in-depth interviews, photographs, costume boards and set designs. Writer Matt Whyman had extensive access to the TV set and the people who worked on the show.' The Bookseller 

The Nice and Accurate Good Omens TV Companion is published in the UK by Headline and by William Morrow in the USA.

Thursday, October 04, 2018

New book


The Unexpected Genius of Pigs a charming ode to one of the most common, yet surprisingly intelligent, animals populating our landscapes. In this gentle and illuminating study, Matt Whyman embarks on a journey to uncover the heart and soul of an animal brimming with more energy, intelligence and playfulness than he could ever have imagined.
In his bid to understand what makes a pig tick, having climbed a steep learning curve as a keeper himself, Whyman meets a veterinary professor and expert in pig emotion, as well as a spirited hill farmer whose world revolves around hogs and sows.
Packed with fascinating research and delightful anecdotes, this entertaining and informative celebration of all things porcine covers everything from evolution, behaviour and communication to friendship, loyalty and broken hearts – uncovering a surprising notion of family along the way.

  • Published in hardback, ebook and audiobook on October 4th by HarperCollins.

Friday, August 10, 2018

The Unexpected Genius of Pigs


Seven years ago, I wrote a memoir about life with minipigs. 
Now, here's a book about the real thing...



An engaging book about porcine brilliance. The Daily Express

In this gentle and illuminating study, Matt Whyman embarks on a journey to uncover the heart and soul of an animal brimming with more energy, intelligence and playfulness than he could ever have imagined.
In his bid to understand what makes a pig tick, having climbed a steep learning curve as a keeper himself, Whyman meets a veterinary professor and expert in pig emotion, as well as a spirited hill farmer whose world revolves around hogs and sows.
Packed with fascinating research and delightful anecdotes, this entertaining and informative celebration of all things porcine covers everything from evolution, behaviour and communication to friendship, loyalty and broken hearts – uncovering a surprising notion of family along the way.

The Unexpected Genius of Pigs is published in the UK by HarperCollins. Available in hardback, ebook and audiobook (read by the author).

Tuesday, April 25, 2017

new short story

My first short story for 8+ readers, BROTHER IN ARMS, is published in the new issue of SCOOP MAGAZINE. Out now...



Thursday, November 17, 2016

Two shortlists

BAD APPLE has been shortlisted for two awards this week:



2017 Ealing Teen Reads





2017 Hounslow Teen Reads


Friday, October 21, 2016

CILIP Carnegie Medal Nomination

BAD APPLE has been nominated for the 2017 CILIP Carnegie Medal



'The CILIP Carnegie and Kate Greenaway Medals are the UK's oldest and most prestigious children's book awards. Often described by authors and illustrators as 'the one they want to win' - they are the gold standard in children's literature.' www.carnegiegreenaway.org.uk