Thursday, August 20, 2020





My new book, Be More Sausage, is out now in both hardback and ebook, 
published in the UK by HarperCollins.

















Thursday, June 11, 2020

New book


Eight years ago, I wrote a memoir about life with a miniature dachshund called Walking With Sausage Dogs. This summer, I'm bookending it with a guide to becoming better humans by adopting the attitude and outlook of a breed that refuses to be downtrodden ...


BE MORE SAUSAGE

LIFELONG LESSONS FROM A SMALL BUT MIGHTY DOG


Here is a celebration of a hound that faces a mirror and sees something beyond us all.

By rights, with its extra long torso and stubby little legs, the sausage dog should want to hide away from the world. Instead, this is one of the most proud, loyal, wilful, clever, stubborn and courageous breeds in existence - and an example to us all. 

So, exactly how does this seemingly disadvantaged underdog view itself so positively, and what lessons can we learn?

In this low level philosophical trot through the dachshund's world, here is your chance to be more sausage. It's about learning how to break free from restraints, overcome physical and emotional shortcomings, and chew up the social conventions that conspire to hold us back. Ultimately, it's an opportunity to unleash that inner dachshund and let your spirit rise head and shoulders above the rest. 

Be More Sausage 
is published in the UK by HarperCollins on August 20th 2020. Available in hardback and ebook.

Wednesday, May 27, 2020

El Ingenio de los Cerdos



The Spanish edition of The Unexpected Genius of Pigs is now available. 

The book is translated by Beatriz Ruiz Jara and published by Editorial Ariel.

Other editions are available in Poland, Italy, Holland & Germany.


Wednesday, September 04, 2019




The official children's book to the Netflix original documentary series, Our Planet, written by Matt Whyman with illustrations by Richard Jones and a foreword by Sir David Attenborough.

This glorious visual celebration of the natural world combines extraordinary photography from the series with stunning illustrations from acclaimed artist, Richard Jones. Lose yourself in icy landscapes, dense jungles and endless oceans. Learn how our fascinating habitats, and the plants and creatures living there, interconnect to create the one place we all call home - Our Planet.
`You will be among the next characters who can, if they wish, tell the most extraordinary story of all - how human beings in the twenty-first century came to their senses and started to protect Planet Earth.' Sir David Attenborough
Our Planet: The One Place We All Call Home is published in the UK by HarperCollins on October 31st 2019.  

Wednesday, February 27, 2019

Good Omens





For much of last year, with thanks to Neil Gaiman and publisher, Headline, I went off radar to work on a dream project that took me to film sets and studios from London to Cape Town. It was exciting, scary, illuminating, inspiring, great fun interviewing cast and crew, and kind of unique to find myself working on this book alongside one about pigs...


The Nice and Accurate Good Omens TV Companion is the ultimate companion to Good Omens, a massive new television launch on Amazon Prime Video and the BBC for 2019, adapted from the internationally beloved novel by Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman - and with a cast including David Tennant, Michael Sheen, Jon Hamm, Miranda Richardson, Josie Lawrence, Derek Jacobi, Nick Offerman, Jack Whitehall and Adria Arjona. 

Offering deep and nuanced insight into Gaiman's brilliant reimagining of the Good Omens universe, this full-colour official companion book is a treasure trove of delights for fans of Good Omens, Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett. 

'The Nice and Accurate Good Omens TV Companion provides behind-the-scenes insight, in-depth interviews, photographs, costume boards and set designs. Writer Matt Whyman had extensive access to the TV set and the people who worked on the show.' The Bookseller 

The Nice and Accurate Good Omens TV Companion is published in the UK by Headline and by William Morrow in the USA.

Thursday, October 04, 2018

New book


The Unexpected Genius of Pigs a charming ode to one of the most common, yet surprisingly intelligent, animals populating our landscapes. In this gentle and illuminating study, Matt Whyman embarks on a journey to uncover the heart and soul of an animal brimming with more energy, intelligence and playfulness than he could ever have imagined.
In his bid to understand what makes a pig tick, having climbed a steep learning curve as a keeper himself, Whyman meets a veterinary professor and expert in pig emotion, as well as a spirited hill farmer whose world revolves around hogs and sows.
Packed with fascinating research and delightful anecdotes, this entertaining and informative celebration of all things porcine covers everything from evolution, behaviour and communication to friendship, loyalty and broken hearts – uncovering a surprising notion of family along the way.

  • Published in hardback, ebook and audiobook on October 4th by HarperCollins.